0287 – My Three Summer Destinations

Finals are finally over! The semester has come to a close, and I now have returned to my beloved blogosphere. It’s been a while. I’m sorry for going AWOL in the past two weeks. It was the end of my winter semester at the University of Michigan and I was crazy busy. Anyway, it’s the summer break for us students! I have once again managed to turn a “break” into busy time–but also play time. I’m excited for what’s in store!

So here are my three main trips this summer:

1. Bangalore, India

– I have an 8-week internship with Infosys, an IT services company (a giant one), who has set a goal of carbon neutrality by 2017! From my understanding, I will be assisting Infosys’s Green Initiatives team with the planning of how to get the company there. So I will likely be evaluating different renewable energy types and carbon offset projects that are fit for India.

2. Bhutan!!!

– I’m really pumped about this trip. It’s just going to be a 9-day vacation in July with my mom and sister to visit my dream destination. Three words: Gross National Happiness. I’m excited to just feel the atmosphere of the country firsthand and observe how the people carry themselves, and how GNH has shaped the country.

 

 

3. Monrovia, Liberia

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (right) and women's rights activist Leymah Gbowee (left) receiving the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

– The University of Michigan has this program called GIEU (Global Intercultural Experience for Undergraduates), through which students have the opportunity to go to various parts of the world to work on a project that exposes the students to a different culture and dynamic. I will be traveling to Liberia for a month in July-August to work with the Liberian college students on sustainable energy, and potentially explore the local landscape and implement a small scale renewable energy system there.

 

 

 

So those are my three destinations this summer. I hope to blog regularly throughout the four months and share my pictures, reflections and observations of their ways of life. Stay connected!

Anyhow, I will be on my flight to my home in Bangkok, Thailand in T-5. Making three stops in ORD, SFO and HKG. 30-hour trip. This one will not be so fun, but I gotta get home. Will say hello again when I’m done switching time zones on you.

Have a great summer everyone!

Leave a comment

