0282 – We are so so poor these days

<EDIT 04/07/2012: Added link to the source of the graph on the right, which I forgot to put in earlier. My apologies.>

When we talk about a nation’s progress, we often talk about the GDP. A steady increase in GDP, consistent with the infinite growth paradigm, the notion that a country’s wealth and GDP can increase forever. A high GDP per capita means that a country is rich, and a lower GDP means the country is relatively poor.

This is a false paradigm.

Many of us are so so poor these days.

I’m not talking about financial poverty. I’m talking about a relatively new concept of time poverty–the sense that we are always short of time and running behind personal and/or professional deadlines even as we cram more and more activities and tasks in our day than our previous generation.

As it turns out, time poverty really does hinder our happiness. More often than ever we are complaining that we don’t have enough time to do all the things we care about. I too suffer from time poverty. On the Happiness Initiative survey, I scored a 4 our of 100 for the time balance category. My life is occupied with my classes, homework, incessant worries, impatience, stress, and ultimately unhappiness. Despite starting my personal Happiness Revolution almost two years ago, I still worry about my grades, how much money I’ll make, what others think of me, how I can fit well in the system. I struggle with this a lot, and I’m sure most of you do too. It’s so hard to rebel. It’s so hard to break away from conformity and the traditional paths prescribed by society. But you know, ultimately, it’s really about who we are. It’s our happiness.

So let’s be rich–rich in time. Richness is not just about money. Money doesn’t equal happiness. Let’s be happy. Let’s revolutionize. Let’s start something new. Let’s change.

Let’s devote time to our passions and values. Let’s devote time to life.

3 thoughts on “0282 – We are so so poor these days

  1. myfunhap April 24, 2012 / 3:42 pm

    So very true and so very important that you raise the issue here. My entire blog is created for the purpose of helping people to find FUNDAMENTAL happiness. The difference with regular happiness is, that fundamental happiness is long-lasting and not depending on external influences. I would very much like to invite you visit it, there is also a Mini Course to get people on that path which is very useful also for your regular support.

    You are more than welcome to copy content of the blog for your blog.

    If you want to stay informed about new content, you can also subscribe.

    I would very much appreciate to receive your comments on the articles there.

    regards
    Francois

    • Pete W April 24, 2012 / 9:47 pm

      Hi Francois,

      Thank you for your comment. Just checked out your site – great to see that there are people out there like you who care about fundamental happiness. Just subscribed and I look forward to seeing thought-provoking posts from you!

      • myfunhap April 25, 2012 / 6:39 am

        Thank you for visiting and subscribing to the blog! Please don’t hesitate to place your reactions to the posts, I’m also looking forward to that!

Leave a comment

