0245 – The Life We Choose To Live

I’m Back!!! Kinda..

It’s been such a busy semester with chemical engineering. I can’t believe I haven’t blogged for almost a month! So what’s happening in the blogosphere?

This new year life’s been about new friends and new directions. Many decisions have been made, and more are to come. The decisions we make each day ultimately affect the way we choose to live each time. Have you ever wondered how life would be different if we make the other decision?

You know, we really make so many decisions each day though we don’t really realize it. People like me stress about the decisions and may even be more uncomfortable after the decision is made. I worry about the impact of the decisions and what will happen in the future. I try to interpret the signs that pop up around me, wondering what they mean. What am I supposed to do? Which choice am I supposed to choose? Ultimately, you’re forced to make a decision.

Then you wonder if you’ve chosen the right choice. You wonder if you want to be where you are. You wonder if you want to live the life you’ve been living. You wonder how it’d be different if you went the other way.

I have yet to find any answers to life. I’ve realized that happiness means actually following your dreams and what you care about and not always listening to the society. But it’s so much easier to just say it than to live by it. It’s so much easier to just do what the society wants and just.. try to survive.

So I’m trying to choose how to live my life, but I’ve yet to figure out the best way. People will tell you there is no best way to live, but can you blame a boy for trying? In a world as uncertain and fragile as ours, I’d gladly hang on to any steady pillars, just to give myself some form of security. We rarely want change, either because it’s too hard or because of its unpredictability.

We never consider the momentous impact that our decisions have. We never consider how choosing to use a plastic bag mean less resources for the future generations. We never consider how not recycling a piece of paper mean increased demand for deforestation. We never consider how taking more food than we need mean overgrazing or potentially less food for people who really need them? Maybe it’s time we choose to live a different life. Maybe it’s time we look at decision-making with a systems thinking mindset. Maybe it’s time we start to make sure that we leave the world better than how we found it. Though this may be done in a myriad of ways, the small steps that you can take will have meaningful impacts much larger than life.

What do you say? Should we take the easy way out, or shall we try to empower ourselves?

Leave a comment

