0240 – As we go on

Just came back from U of M’s Winter 2010 Commencement Ceremony. Semester breaks are my favorite times of the year, not only because it means that I get a brief reprieve from the demanding collegiate academia, but also because I get to witness people graduating, closing another chapter of their lives. I can’t wait for my turn! Even as an audience, I feel the overwhelming bittersweet feeling – inexplicable nonetheless. I am excited. Congrats to all graduates!

Commencement speeches are bonuses to these ceremonies. Listened to a fabulous talk by Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman on the duality of the remembering self and the experiencing self. Very intriguing concept. I am yet again inspired.

College has been amazing. I want to graduate, but I don’t want to graduate. I’m sure that’s the sentiments shared by many. I’ve learned and experienced so much already and I know that so much more is out there for me to grasp. Life is indeed a wondrous creation. Moments like this make me realize that the suffering, depression and sadness that I’ve experienced are merely a piece of the bigger picture. And I’d like to take this opportunity to thank those of you who’ve stood by me and helped me in anyway. Thank you. Really. And as we go on, I hope we continue to be good friends and learn from each other, and I hope we will one day find the life that we seek.

So, like a true cheesy Asian in Michigan, as Vitamin C’s ‘Graduation’ fades in the background: For today, goodbye. For tomorrow, good luck. Forever, go blue.

God I love this place.

Leave a comment

