0238 – A New Lens On The World

December 11th, 2010

Dear friend,

I started reading The Perks of Being A Wallflower at 11pm yesterday and just could not put it down. I finished it at 3am this morning. It blew my mind away. I am still in shock from it. I do not want to say too much as I don’t wanna ruin it for you, but you should know that I really really love it. Frankly, I don’t know what to think. The book just made me think about the world in a new light. The main character, Charlie, is a wonderful young kid. It is very touching and heartwarming to watch him grow as he struggles through the world of high school, drugs, sex, friendship and love. None of you will know this, but I think like Charlie. I really do. You won’t believe me because I’ve never told you before, and you’ve only seen one side of me. I suffer the same problems as Charlie. I experience the same emotions as Charlie. I am similar to Charlie.

I too am very smart, and I think I am destined for something great in the world. And I think I learn something great from books like these. This makes me think of one of my favorite quotes: “Do not let your schooling interfere with your education.” Charlie just makes me want to disconnect from this world, and just really ponder what everything means, why everything is the way they are. I am sorta doing that, but maybe I need a new lens through which I can see things differently. Kids have the best views of the world, not because they are cute, but because they are the most honest, thoughtful and observant people ever.

The Perks of Being A Wallflower will go down as one of my favorite books ever. I recommend that you read it, not simply for enjoyment or because it is a good book, but to learn about the reality of this world and the fundamentals of relationships and mankind.

I still don’t know what I want to think about this book. All I know is the world is moving too fast for us to all sit and think about all this, but if you can spare some time to think, and bring on new lens to look at the world, I think you will see that the world is a very complex and beautiful place. The world is here to challenge us and help us grow.

“Please believe that things are good with me, and even when they’re not, they will be soon enough.

And I will believe the same about you.”

Leave a comment

