0227 – The Thing Called Fate

Aloha!!! Long time no see. You’ve caught me at a very very happy mood. Ten hours ago, it’s a totally different story. How quickly things change. How quickly life happens.

To me, things happen for a reason. Life hasn’t had the most perfect timings, but somehow things got placed in ways that they speak to me and start to make sense.

Tell me that it’s just pure chance that I got a scholarship to do chemical engineering only.

Tell me that it’s just pure chance that I got into Michigan, but not any other Ivies so I can be at a place where there’s so much diversity and endless possibilities.

Tell me that it’s just pure chance that I have to be Asian and feel the heavy societal pressure.

Tell me that it’s just pure chance that I have to love sciences out of school, and be intrinsically competitive and driven that I was here determined to do the very best academically.

Tell me that it’s pure chance that I have to realize that there’s so much more to life than that in Fall 2010. Fall 2010. As in the theme semester What Makes Life Worth Living Fall 2010.

Tell me that it’s pure chance that right before this semester I attended Leadershape and it changed my life.

Tell me that it’s pure chance that I was ‘assigned’ to go to listen to Dr. Maura Cullen when she came to Michigan.

Tell me that it’s pure chance that Martin Seligman came to Michigan to speak, and I summoned the courage to ask him a question.

Tell me that it’s pure chance that I met so many awesome people, yet experience so much pain.

Tell me that it’s pure chance is my life is full of struggle, confusion, introspection, depression, attachments, more attachments, more depression, then inspiration, and – ultimately – the pursuit of happiness.

It’s not pure chance. Everything happens for a reason. Neither your life, my life, nor anybody’s life is wrong. We’re here to journey together. And this journey – it’s such a great one. It’s one that may initially fill you with desolation and hopelessness, but then there’s that light at the end of the path that we all look forward to. We take many different paths. we past through so many different things. We interact with countless beings. Yet, in the end, if we summon the courage, we can all find that light.

The light that is peace and happiness.

Leave a comment

