0218 – A healthy disregard for the impossible

Sometimes I have days so horrible I just don’t have the motivation to do anything. I just wanna forget it all. Forget everything and let myself control my life and make only good things happen. But life’s not like that. In a week like this, which includes being woken up by my dream about my research professor firing me, waiting three hours in line at the Secretary of State office, having my camera died on me suddenly and losing all my files on my hard drive, life just seems bad, doesn’t it?

It is amazing how quick things change. I had a note jotted down last week that I wanted to blog about something else. Now I just don’t feel the same way anymore. Everything is so temporal, so uncertain, and so unsettling. I had the happiest week of my life last week at Leadershape (please check it out – it really is the best thing that happened to me). Yet, I can’t believe how fleeting that happiness is. Next week and poof… gone. This is all but a reminder that mankind has the tendency to overemphasize the bad things, and overlook the good things.

I am a pessimist, and bad things occupy my brain. It is very unhealthy. I’ve learned that. I’ve always stood my ground that pessimism has shaped who I am, and I will not change it. But if I take only one thing out of Leadershape, it is this: to have a healthy disregard for the impossible.

Profound. Ain’t it?

If you’re like me, life has mostly been filled what hopes, desires, what-ifs, fear and nay-saying. I have so many ideas, so much sentiment, and so much untapped potential. I have the power to change. We all have these in us. We all have the power to change. I am no longer going to let a bad day drag my life down the abyss for fifteen days before I recover. And I will absolutely not be subservient to incorrect societal norms and judgments. I am going to fight. I am going to remind myself that I am so great that I can overcome a bad day. I am so great that impossible might bow to me. I am so very great that I will support others who have this very same healthy disregard for the impossible, because together, we are so gonna rock this world. No more nay-saying, just contributions. And if I fail, it’s okay. It’s a fascinating failure.

More on that. More on Leadershape. More on spirituality. More inspiration. Soon to come, when I overcome my laziness.

Leave a comment

