0215 – Reactions to my second home of Singapore Part II

I’ve been procrastinating writing this entry for long enough. It’s time to get this straight, before I head off to the USA.

So I still miss Singapore, and I think it was one of my most content times in the past 2 years or so. Not sure if it’s the friends or the culture, or simply the memory.

I’ve spent the four prime years of my life in Singapore.  It was a period of momentous change and defining moments. It was also a period of a more carefree lifestyle – jokes and smiles were abound. Of course, there was the school stress, but that is part and parcel of my life. Now, I’m stuck in an indecisive moment, where I both want to relive the freedom and inchoate nature of youth and also expedite the arrival of being a full-fledged adult. I’ve asked myself where I want to be in the future, and Singapore has, surprisingly, popped up often.

It is a country that I know well. It is not a country that I love, but I don’t mind it. People in that country seem very uptight and competitive. Everything seems so serious and businesslike. In a way, Singapore has progressed so far out of reach of their Asian counterparts due to the aforementioned Singaporean lifestyle. While I do not fancy spending a lifetime under such an environment, I admire it too. Perhaps, I secretly want to be part of it. Seeing it again after two years, I am impressed by the progress and development that are occurring. Really is goddamn impressive.

But..! Singapore really is way too dense. In the government’s effort to raise their competitiveness, it has jam-packed this island of ~700 miles with almost 5 million people. That is 7000 people per square meter. That is ridiculous. I, as an introvert and a thinker, do not like crowded noisy places. That is a major downer. A price to pay for the prosperity I guess. On the flipside, it is amazing how the government has managed to run the country so effectively and smoothly. The transportation system, housing, shopping areas are very very well provided. Somehow, staying in this country with a single-party system, I feel assured that my needs will be taken care of. How I wish Thai politicians can learn from them instead of bickering at each other all the time. Although, nothing beats Thai food. ever. I still have that Thainess in me.

I’ve been spending a lot of thought on this, but perhaps my research is inadequate. It is such a big world, and I have yet to explore them. Switzerland, Australia, Bhutan, Canada, Ireland are currently on my list. I need many travel buddies.

Or perhaps a solo journey is in order.

2 thoughts on “0215 – Reactions to my second home of Singapore Part II

  1. Animate English August 20, 2010 / 1:15 pm

    nice use of vocab – though if *your* youth “was” Inchoate, i’d hate to describe mine–

  2. existentiallife August 20, 2010 / 1:50 pm

    umm.. maybe carefree decadence? lol. just kidding.

Leave a comment

