0197 – From a different world

So I can almost say I am provoked to blog about this.

You know I always wonder how Americanized I am and what are some of the differences that still exist.

One of them manifests itself in the most frustrating and tormenting of ways.

In my exam the grader made a wrong addition and gave me three extra points. And that bothers me. It bothers me a lot. I don’t go yesss I get three free points muhahahaha I am so happy. I was very stressed and torn. I don’t know what to do. To me, the noble and right thing to do was to return it to get it corrected. and I am going to do that.

I am very fazed by this issue. I care about my grades, and I care about my integrity. It’s not too bad for me to take more time to study and less time to break, and people make fun of me for that. People make fun of me for being honest, too. My friend said ‘That’s the dumbest thing ever.’ Imagine how I feel.

You guys might not understand, and may never will. You see I’m a very unique/weird/special/dumb/isolated/outcast/call-it-whatever-you-wanna-call-it. You might never find one even barely similar to me in your lifetime.

At this age of nineteen, I care a lot about religion, honesty, integrity and doing the right thing. I care a lot about my grades too. I live without needing much fun. I am depressed often, but life goes on. I haven’t met any other 19-year-olds like me.

To the friends I talked about, if you’re reading this, I told you because I wanted support that I badly need. I told you because I need reassurance that I need the right thing. No thanks to you for calling me dumb. Make fun of me all you want, but I am who I am. and I will continue to be so. Judge me if you want to – that’s your right. But I beg you to not judge, and be nice, because I still wanna be friends. If you don’t support me, please support me and don’t criticize me, because it’s tough enough to live my own life.

I feel like I come from a different world, living in a land where nobody feels nor acts like me. Sometimes, it’s very very depressing to be unique.

Hopefully, life moves on. again.

15 thoughts on “0197 – From a different world

  1. hopelesshours April 14, 2010 / 3:13 am

    I would do the same thing – you’re not alone. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • hopelesshours April 14, 2010 / 3:18 am

        Poor girl.
        I felt compelled to say something because I often feel displaced/alone too (for similar reasons), but there’re others…. in fact, I know a number people that’d do the same.

      • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 3:20 am

        Love your pic! Lena is beautiful =)
        Where are you from again? Sorry, my memory fails me all the time

      • hopelesshours April 14, 2010 / 3:30 am

        Australia, but I was just in the US. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 3:32 am

        oh you were?!!! Where!! I need to go to Australia one day. and perhaps watch the Aussie Open when I can afford it.

      • hopelesshours April 14, 2010 / 3:35 am

        New York City and East Providence RI. I loved them both. Australia is fantastic, especially around summer/the Australian Open… you should visit!

      • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 3:36 am

        I know. I really want to. Maybe next year. Where do you stay? I wanna go to Victoria/Sydney/Gold Coast lol

      • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 3:36 am

        and i have yet to find somebody as crazy as me about tennis… and i wouldnt wanna travel alone. so that’s why no tennis trips have happened yet

      • hopelesshours April 14, 2010 / 3:41 am

        A lot of people meet at GS (for example, Lena fans do, via the Official Forum, and I was going to meet Kait), so don’t let that stop you! Next year Lena might still play. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I live in Sydney, and I prefer it to the Gold Coast, but Victoria is nice, too.

      • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 3:44 am

        Haha that’s cool! I haven’t visited tennisfans in years. Is that site still up and running?
        And yeah I’d really love to go Down Under one day. Will let you know if I do

  2. rummy333 April 14, 2010 / 4:37 am

    Everyone is unique ๐Ÿ™‚ but you might just be a little bit more unique than everyone else haha. Jiayou Mr Wangwongwiroj!!! You’re doing great and you’ll be fine. You’ll become rich and you’ll hire me as your secretary or coffee/photocopy girl just because you have loads of money to spare :DDD Anyway it’s songkran, don’t worry, be happy and go splash water on people! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. midnight50srrna April 14, 2010 / 6:11 am

    unique livin’
    So I disagree. You say “It’s very very depressing to be unique.” Not so. You are who you were born to be. Taking away aspects of your personality to make it more like the personality of the masses would be to remove a carefully crafted 19 year old piece of humanity. You need to hold onto those differences. They are what will allow you to do things no one else can–to make choices no one else would have–to become who you, and only you, are meant to be. It’s gotta be tough to come from a far away land, but man, no one is born accustomed to the world. We are all getting used to how things work, to how people act. You are just starting with a different perspective. But if we can learn anything from physics, it’s that there is no one correct frame of reference–they all are right.

    • existentiallife April 14, 2010 / 6:17 am

      Re: unique livin'
      First of all, care to reveal your identity?
      And very well said. I do not ever intend to lose my uniqueness. It shapes who I am and the perspective on the world – and that has become something that I am somewhat content with. My point here is that when you are very unique, it is difficult to find somebody who shares your same thoughts, ideals, lifestyle and i don’t know.. likes/dislikes. Due to this sometimes it is difficult to be around people, because you can’t talk about the things you love to talk about and say the things you wanna say. It’s just very very hard, and sometimes you feel alone.

      • midnight50srrna April 14, 2010 / 6:23 am

        Re: unique livin'
        If you think hard you can figure out who I am.
        So, back to the point. You say “My point here is that when you are very unique, it is difficult to find somebody who shares your same thoughts, ideals, lifestyle and i don’t know.. likes/dislike” Ok. Of course its true that “to find someone else just like you is difficult”. Even impossible. That’s why it’s called being unique!If you could easily find such people, you wouldn’t be so unique. But there is a silver lining to this cloud–you don’t have to find people just like yourself to share your thoughts. You just have to find someone–anyone it doesnt matter who they are, where they’re from, what they do…You can share yourself and who you are with any human. People might not always understand exactly why you do the things you do, or why you say what you say; yet, that’s why you have a voice-to explain the world around you. Show us what it’s like, Pete, and we’ll listen.

Leave a comment

