0189 – Wait, there's more to life!

It’s a Sunday night and I have my organic chemistry exam coming up on Tuesday and I haven’t started studying, but that can wait. What I’m about to say is such a momentous shift of perspective – one that I have carried myself over from Thailand to here, and one that I have been carrying for a long time.

If you have not noticed still, I’ve always wondered why I am here. What’s the purpose of life? Life is suffering, says Buddhism. And I do largely agree. I experience suffering all the time, and acknowledge the fact that one can never escape this cycle of suffering unless one attains enlightenment. I believe in the Buddhist philosophy of life and that it is the path towards ultimate bliss, but I’m not sure I have the will do it in this life.

When I was at the Michigan hockey game yesterday, I felt the school spirit right in the air. It was something else. Part of the reason I love Michigan is how passionate about the Michigan Wolverines we all are. I’m the same. I go all in. I might not know that much about sports, but my school spirit is always there. I love the feeling of triumph and achievement in sports. I love the feeling of camaraderie and the Michigan spirit.

Then I was thinking that maybe there’s more to life than trying to escape all the suffering. Maybe I should just go with the flow, go all in and have fun. That’s what I’ve been showing everybody, and that’s made people really happy. So why not?

I do not know how to define success. I do not know what I want with my life. Fame? Not really. Money? Not really. To be liberated from suffering through walking the Middle Path? Maybe.

All I know is I don’t want to be ordinary. My favorite quote from American Beauty:

"There’s nothing worse in life than being ordinary."

True indeed.

Everybody can be extraordinary in their own way. Life is but a learning journey.

I’m rediscovering who I am.

All I know is…

IT’S GREAT! TO BE! A MICHIGAN WOLVERINE!!!

6 thoughts on “0189 – Wait, there's more to life!

  1. hopelesshours February 1, 2010 / 10:53 am

    This was really great to read (your enthusiasm rubbed off a little) & I’m glad that you’ve experienced such a positive change in perspective. Wish you all the best in moving forward with it…

    • existentiallife February 2, 2010 / 12:09 am

      hellooooooooo long time no see!
      should i be pissed at justine for beating dementieva but not serena? 😛

      • hopelesshours February 2, 2010 / 2:37 am

        I certainly was! However… we all know Elena performs far below par than Serena in GS. But I never liked Justine, anyway.
        It has been long, so, as a fellow fan – I should let you know that I saw/”met” Elena in Sydney and she was really lovely 🙂

      • existentiallife February 2, 2010 / 3:09 am

        i am very tempted to say i hate you. lol.
        OMG I’D LOVE TO SEE HER

      • hopelesshours February 2, 2010 / 11:11 am

        Because I dislike Henin?
        This is my flickr, it has a few photos from Sydney 🙂 You should see her play live when she’s nearby!

      • existentiallife February 2, 2010 / 2:35 pm

        no, because you get to see dementieva up close.
        well i’m in a very very cold place so i don’t think she’s gonna be near here anywhere soon :/

Leave a comment

