0183 – The path of life

My friend asked me, "Do you believe in karma Pete?"

"Yes I do."

"So, if I pinch you, then I’ll get pinched back. Is that karma?"

Chuckles.

There are so many different ways people live their lives. Religion is one thing that some of us holds very dearly, and for some other it is bullcrap.

Karma is like.. the main fundamental principle that I live my life by. So, what do I see in it?

The thing is right now, if my life has always been like this and will continue to be this way, I wouldn’t see the point of karma. I can see why some people don’t see the point – the effects are certainly not immediate. If I wasn’t in a temple, if I didn’t become a monk, I probably wouldn’t have thought so highly of the Buddha and his teachings. It’s just wondrous the way my life has come thus far. I’m not satisfied with it in any case, but the path that I’ve walked through, the things I’ve been blessed with… It’s just wonderful. It’s a blessing. There’re many storms along the way, but hey… life’s not one dimensional.

12 thoughts on “0183 – The path of life

  1. nirasha August 18, 2007 / 6:40 am

    yes.
    VOTE AL GORE ❤
    ta!

  2. scentimental August 18, 2007 / 10:31 am

    fabb!
    hahahaha.
    i just get lucky in like silly stuff liddat. i mean like. no luck in things that matter lar!
    i ❤ root beer! 😀
    actually till now right. i’ve only gotten root beer in my Anythings. HAHA!
    yea al gore for pres!

    • existentiallife August 18, 2007 / 1:12 pm

      Re: fabb!
      aiya he’s not gonna run la. and that makes my tok pres ever so difficult.
      sian diaooooooooooo

      • scentimental August 18, 2007 / 1:21 pm

        Re: fabb!
        well he shld. he’s better than the one in power now anw. -.-”
        and HAHAHA! lame seh. but maybe you alr knw what ur tok pres is abt! i have 0 idea lor.

      • existentiallife August 18, 2007 / 1:36 pm

        Re: fabb!
        u know fabb sounds like fabriz. lol

      • scentimental August 18, 2007 / 1:40 pm

        Re: fabb!
        i didnt realise lor! and fabb=fabulous, whr got FABriz? 😀

      • scentimental August 18, 2007 / 1:49 pm

        Re: fabb!
        dun have same same! 😀
        is different. (:

      • existentiallife August 18, 2007 / 1:59 pm

        Re: fabb!
        same same.
        sesame street

      • scentimental August 18, 2007 / 2:09 pm

        Re: fabb!

        omg LAME! 🙂

  3. girlspell November 16, 2009 / 2:08 am

    You’re right. Life is never one dimensional.
    One of my students at school was a Jain Dharma’. He was from India where his religion is a minority. Although he followed the Gods from India, his religion was Salvation based. One life and only through all the deities could he find his reward. His faith is very pious. He would never stop on a bug, indeed he would sweep the dirt out of the way of the bug. He could not eat meat, and nothing grown underground. So no onions, garlic and potatoes, etc.. He could not wear leather or his wife wearing makeup.. I think he would try to avoid medicine, because animals are abused for research in medicine. He’s back in India to find a proper wife and to live his life as piously as possible. So his life path will not be easy. So many things along the way that might knock him off that path.
    It’s tough for everyone, no matter what faith. Always something out there, that will try and knock you off your feet. People are free to be what they want to be, as they go through life. So if you try to be good, you will be happy. Just be aware of the pitfalls out there.

Leave a comment

