0180 – I have high expectations of teachers.

I really do.

I want my teachers to engage students. I want my teachers to be funny and crack lots of jokes. I want my teachers to be approachable and lighthearted and yet gives awesome lectures. So far, I’ve only met one. Her name deserves to be mentioned, Dr. Kathleen Nolta. If she is not the most awesome chemistry teacher EVER, I don’t know who is. A hyperbole for you right there.

(I’m getting very conscious about my writing. Firstly, I don’t know if that’s a good thing. Secondly, that shows that my English teachers (probably) taught me well.)

Anyway, all these expectations I have… are they asking too much? If you read Malcolm Gladwell’s Most Likely To Succeed, then you might have a slight idea that yes, maybe I’m asking too much. There isn’t any incentive for teachers to improve themselves, and most of the funny, energetic and lively ones probably choose to go into other fields. Also, maybe the brand of education that I love requires a set of special gifts – not to mention passion and inspirations and resilience – that only few possess.

Education should always be fun, but it can’t always be that way. It’s just not possible. I sometimes feel that all students want their classes to be that way, but it’s probably an unrealistic and perhaps an I-know-it-won’t-happen wish.

I’m just grateful that there exist teachers like Dr. Kathleen Nolta in this world, and that there exist teachers who do care about education and his students. They just give me so much inspiration. They make me want to teach. Just the thought of the cumbersome responsibilities that come with the brand ‘teacher’ is already overwhelming enough. I can’t imagine what really being a teacher would feel like. What I know is that I might be willing to give it a try.

3 thoughts on “0180 – I have high expectations of teachers.

  1. lilac_repose August 13, 2007 / 2:48 pm

    noo! you cannot give up tennis. i havent played with you yet! and c’mon at least you’re better than me 😀

    • existentiallife August 13, 2007 / 3:01 pm

      lol. haha. ya but i deprove every time i play!!
      -pouts

  2. Anonymous August 13, 2007 / 2:54 pm

    lol
    eh nvm one la. =D
    -fab

Leave a comment

