0172 – Black holes and revelations

Here is a part of the lyrics of Starlight by Muse

Far away
This ship is taking me far away
Far away from the memories
Of the people who care if I live or die

I’ll never let you go
If you promise not to fade away
Never fade away…

Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations
Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations

Hold you in my arms
I just wanted to
Hold you in my arms…

As I leave Thailand on this metaphorical trip (not that many people care if I live or die, but that’s besides the point) to USA, I’m moving far away. Far away from the memories.

Little did I know I was moving towards an even more intriguing journey, one in which I forge lasting friendships, discover more of myself and experience a new culture. America is really a wonderful country. It has that wondrous effect on me. I just love this country.

Now, I am wondering what my expectations were when I came to America. Surely, I didn’t think I’ll meet friends who I’ll get along with so well so quickly and I didn’t know that I’ll feel so disheartened that I’ll be leaving them in five weeks.

I have my hopes and expectations. Yet, everything is just not what I expected.

I receive many welcome revelations. Yet, it pains me that in five weeks, there will be a quasi-black hole that attempts to dissolve all these memories and joyous moments into oblivion.

Oh, dear memory, will you fade away?

I have a short term memory. It is a challenge for me to remember everything vividly and lucidly. In the future, when I might forget this Brewster Academy experience, I won’t realize how priceless and meaningful this moment is.

The sad truth is that the my personal black hole is pretty strong; it sucks a lot of things in. That’s just simply the truth.

Even as I am writing this, I have a heavy heart. I feel a loss of hope. I feel a bleeding sense of loss. In the future, I can only hope that I remember.

Our hopes and expectations.
Black holes and revelations.

Interesting lyrics. I’ve never really listened to the lyrics of this song before. I never realized how beautiful it is.

You know what, my memories, I’ll promise not to let you go – if you promise not to fade away.

4 thoughts on “0172 – Black holes and revelations

      • werewold July 30, 2009 / 1:09 pm

        nice and emo, i enjoy! haha eh you’re back in thailand now arh?

      • existentiallife August 3, 2009 / 3:25 pm

        Not going back to Thailand until like next year I think.. In New Hampshire now doing a summer program.. Heading to Michigan after this.
        I was gonna ask you how your life is, but I think I kinda roughly know.

Leave a comment

