0165 – Politically correct.

Somehow and someway and somewhy (yes i just made up the word), people reply ‘Good thanks’ when asked ‘How are you?’ even when they are relatively sad.

Damn it. I am feeling sad and depressed and exhausted and lethargic. I wanted to write a nice post. I’m going to try again.

Let’s start with Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA). Amusing character she is. She is the call-me-senator-don’t-call-me-ma’am lady. She’s the lady who was just accused of being racist. She condescended Condoleeza Rice. She’s a tough one ah. As her campaign slogan says, ‘Boxer gives a damn.’

She’s an interesting character because she isn’t afraid to speak out, although sometimes the thing she speaks might not be appropriate. But the point is she’s not very ‘restrained’ or ‘confined’ by societal norms. Yet, one might go agape when one hear what she says. Sometimes, they’re just not ‘politically correct’.

From my culture class, I know it’s shortened PC. There’s even an acronym for politically correct. Must be an important term. My teacher likes to reiterate that America is a society that places great emphasis on being politically correct, or, in my own terms, you can’t always say what you feel.

So is America really a free country?

Well, I don’t know. I haven’t been to that many places. I can only compare USA to Singapore and Thailand, and I must say USA is a freer country. It’s just not possible to have absolute freedom, or else there’ll be too much conflict. After all, political correctness is there for a reason. The truth is there are unique individuals out there and each and everyone of us speak and act freely to different extents. That’s why this is a very convoluted world. I never know how to behave correctly. People boggle me. People amaze me. People infuriate me.

In any case, one wouldn’t want to be misunderstood. I’m always misunderstood. Or maybe I just don’t understand others. I like to make assumptions. Two days ago, my teacher said to assume is to make an ‘ass’ out of ‘u’ and ‘me’. ass+u+me. I laughed. but it’s true. When dealing with others, one has to ‘suspend judgment’. I’ll add a word there and say ‘suspend premature judgment’ instead.

My teacher also said that often times, the misalignment between intent and impact is the source of problems. Interesting. Never looked at it this way before. Now that I think of it, many people hate me because I make the wrong impact that I didn’t know I convey. My intent is (mostly) either friendly or indifferent, but sometimes I don’t convey my intent that well. So, looks like I really got lots of things to learn!

3 thoughts on “0165 – Politically correct.

  1. notepadd July 24, 2009 / 4:03 am

    I can’t remember if I told you this before.
    For my O levels I did a play An Enemy of the People by Ibsen where the main themes were Truth and Minority vs. Majority. I had to do an essay with the question:”Is it worth fighting for the truth even if you’re the minority?” or something like that. I was feeling angsty that day so I argued no (lol). My teacher said it was a good essay but marked me down because it was “politically incorrect”. And I was like -.-“.

      • notepadd July 25, 2009 / 1:56 am

        yepp It’s pretty good. The one I did was adapted by Arthur Miller, and I think his version could be found more easily. The quote that I will always remember is: “Without power, what good is the truth?”

Leave a comment

