0164 – Going with the flow.

I think I have already blogged about this. Furthermore, I used the phrase ‘go with the flow’ many times. But this is a new country, and going with the flow is a little bit harder.

There seems to be… lots of friction as I try to go with the flow. The amount of work I have to do is one. The emotional trouble is one. Cultural adaptation is another. Going with the flow now requires much effort.

The thing is I’m still ambivalent about this summer program. As much I want it to end, I don’t want it to end. Despite my obvious exhaustion and lack of sleep, I am having so much fun going crazy and acting like a small kid.

Where will the flow take me after the next five weeks? Will the fun end? Will I have more work? Less work?

These are questions that I’m not even sure if I wanna find out the answers to. I really don’t understand myself sometimes. What I know is that I want the fun to be there but I want the work to stop, but of course the world doesn’t revolve around me.

Incidentally, my panda eyes are changing in size. I should set up the Panda-eye length index (PELI) to see how sleep-deprived I am. lol.

Also, two days ago, I said ‘Roger that’ to my teacher, and she ‘LOL’ed at me. She said it made her feel like she’s watching a TV show again.

Phrases that I love:
– Roger that (I am so sad that I don’t get to say this a lot.)
– The thing is
– like
– You know
– Damn it
– Shit
– Shit happens
– Kind of
– Sort of
– What in the world!!!

7 thoughts on “0164 – Going with the flow.

  1. girlspell July 22, 2009 / 12:55 am

    Roger that!
    I loved reading your posts. Slowly but surely, you’re finding your way, your “path”
    Will it get ore difficult? Anythng new will, but you’ll have more fun. Isn’t better doing something hard but fun vs doing something hard…and not fun at all?

    • existentiallife July 22, 2009 / 1:16 am

      You loved or love? Huge difference there Rachel 🙂
      Anyway, yeah I believe things are gonna get more difficult, but USA is shaping up to be a really interesting place!
      And I’m collecting state quarters! Missing Wisconsin, Arkansas, Washington, and District of Columbia now 🙂

      • girlspell July 22, 2009 / 1:24 am

        It’s love!!! Hay, love is all around. It grows like wild flowers.

      • existentiallife July 22, 2009 / 2:32 am

        Wild flowers huh. Interesting. What do you metaphorically compare hatred to then?

      • girlspell July 22, 2009 / 2:41 am

        They grow like potatoes…..underground 🙂
        Did you know that one of the reasons for French Revolution was the lowly potato? The Little Ice Age and destroyed their above ground crops (grains) The king begged the people to raise potatoes. The crowds refused The Church had told them all underground food is part of Satan and evil. The starving crowds overthrew the king (beheaded him) and rest is history.

      • existentiallife July 22, 2009 / 2:42 am

        Wow new knowledge. Kind of incredulous but amazing at the same time! You are well-read 🙂

      • girlspell July 22, 2009 / 2:45 am

        It comes with the territory of working in a library and doing research.

Leave a comment

