0149 – That elusive forgiveness

Why can’t we forgive?

It is almost a built-in function that when we’ve been hurt, we want to see retribution of some sort.

Takes a lot to overcome that feeling huh.

Remaining angry and stubborn doesn’t help matters. After all, it only hurts the other party, if it even does, a wee bit; it hurts oneself much more.
However, the thing is, we all don’t like being treated unfairly, and the world just seems unfair if there isn’t any retribution, right?

We desperately want to see retribution. We may deny it, but deep down inside, once we got that not-so-elusive retribution, ooohhh yes! satisfaction.

Seems cruel, but that’s the way some of your fellow worldly mates are built.

So… now what? The opposite party is hurt, and you’re satisfied. yippe! or not… What happens if both of you never forgive each other? It’s gonna turn into a really wicked and wretched dogfight one day, I daresay.

Now let’s imagine, the world where we’ve mastered the art of forgiving?

Peace. Sheer peace.

So how do we get that elusive forgiveness to shine through?

By now I’ve realized that there isn’t really a one-size-fits-all formula that will lead everybody to the expected results. We all have to figure out the paths that will guide us in the right direction. And walk that path. It’s a matter of determination and attitude. Gotta try! Forgive & forget, as they say.

One thing I can assure you is that karmic retribution is indeed the fairest thing in the world. So be peaceful, retribution is on the way.

It troubles me that while I’m saying all these, I cannot realize my words. The mind is a pretty tough thing to control. Oh well. No matter how long it takes – maybe a lifetime, maybe three, maybe 10, maybe millions – I know this is the path to walk, and I will keep walking. Johnnie Walker.

-.-

3 thoughts on “0149 – That elusive forgiveness

  1. girlspell June 13, 2009 / 5:46 pm

    So how do we get that elusive forgiveness to shine through?
    You can’t. Human beings don’t work that way. It’s preached a lot (Christianity for one) but is never practiced. Oh people can say nice, flowery things, but they don’t mean it. Not in the long run. If I’m harmed/betrayed, I won’t forgive. Simple. I don’t expect to be forgiven either. I see peace in the world not as asking for forgiveness, but avoiding the situation that you want to be forgiven for.

    • existentiallife June 13, 2009 / 5:49 pm

      Hmm interesting point. Actually, dont you think that if one is able to forgive then one wont put himself in the precarious position of needing forgiveness? I should think so. Rather, I IMAGINE so. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to you know, just forgive out of compassion. It’s really is against human traits. But it’s kinda what Buddhism preaches; to let go of all things worldly.

  2. girlspell June 13, 2009 / 7:11 pm

    It truly would a peaceful world if no one would hurt each other.

Leave a comment

