0147 – Having faith in oneself, and viva la vida.

Believe it or not, I just really listened to Viva La Vida today. I heard it before, but never really paid attention to the lyrics, partly because I can’t really catch them (the accent and the pace made it difficult for me to follow). Now that I’ve focused on it, and looked up the lyrics, I must say I’m impressed. I know they won some awards, but I didn’t give a damn. lol.

Viva La Vida… Long live life.

"I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sleep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own"

Captures the very essence of life.

I always mention that uncertainty is the only certainty. It’s getting boring, i know, but this can’t be truer. In one’s life one simply has to deal with the constant fluctuations of both emotional and surrounding states. There are many different sources that can aid one’s dealing with these things. Of the many things, myself and religion are my most frequently sought sources of guidance.

Christianity teaches people to have faith in God.

Buddhism, on the other hand, teaches people to have faith in themselves. It teaches me to have faith in my own determination to resist the defilements, and my ability to cope with life no matter what obstacles I come across.

It’s really a learning journey, life. More and more challenges emerge everyday, and the harder and harder we have to fight. And more and more handsome is the reward: the sense of accomplishment.

So, viva la vida. Long live life.

6 thoughts on “0147 – Having faith in oneself, and viva la vida.

  1. Anonymous July 2, 2007 / 2:02 pm

    GET A NEW TREE!!!!

  2. girlspell June 6, 2009 / 7:32 pm

    I love this CD. I listen to it all the time. 🙂 That music really stresses how fleeting life (and your place in life) is. I’m not a Christian, so I don’t rely on God. I’ve always had faith in myself. And the faith to get through life.
    Happy you took a listen to this…

    • existentiallife June 6, 2009 / 7:34 pm

      nice song, isn’t it 🙂 and they’re not those crazy RAWR RAWR type of metal bands that’re ubiquitous nowadays.

  3. notepadd June 7, 2009 / 11:28 am

    Yep I agree. I feel it’s so unstable, to have faith in something else other than yourself.

Leave a comment

