0141 – A Buddhist novice's experience

I became ordained as a novice monk! Well, basically that means shaved head, shaved eyebrows, my unexplained two weeks of absence, staying in a temple without handphone and laptop and meditation and Dharma.

And yes that is why I wasn’t around. ๐Ÿ™‚

I chose to get ordained at a forest temple; one away from the lights and sounds of a metropolitan city, one where the forest houses millions of insects which bite me everyday. lol. Anyhow, staying in a temple means disconnecting from the world almost completely. No newspaper and no problems to worry about. It’s good in a way that it lets me run away from my then-current disappointment and troubles regarding university, and it kinda makes me calmer (a bit). But I’m all the same anyhow. Still attached to all worldly defilements, still volatile, and still lame. ๐Ÿ™‚

However, I did resolve to become a better Buddhist; to become more conscious and alert, as well as to be a ‘nice’ person, by whatever standards you use to judge. Being a nice person means you have to make sacrifices, which I’m not sure I am able to make just yet. It takes a lot of courage and strength of mind to sacrifice personal interests for the greater good.

Well, in the temple, there are precepts which I’m supposed to strictly observe. It includes eating only one meal in the morning (though I’m allowed to drink fruit juices in the evening), not killing any single animal including ants and mosquitoes, not telling lies and not taking people’s stuff without permission. I also had to recite Buddhist chants every morning and evening (I wake up at 4 am everyday!) and try to train my Mind everyday. The temple that I ordained at was a strict temple where the monks are serious in their studies of the Dharma and in their spiritual practice. I did try to meditate and remain steadfast, but with my mind being wholly consumed with worldly attachments, I couldn’t focus much. I managed to stay for only almost two weeks, so there’s not much impact on me unfortunately. I’m gonna take as much as I can from this experience to make myself a perpetually happy person!

This probably sounds weird to those who don’t understand, but I’m not gonna say much because not many people are interested. All I wanna say is Buddhism teaches the path to the cessation of suffering, and buddhism helps you to be calm and peaceful in our everyday life.

Namaste. (A greeting of respect)

14 thoughts on “0141 – A Buddhist novice's experience

  1. cb_s April 24, 2009 / 8:07 am

    wow… just wow. righr hence the no sex thing, that makes sense.
    cool! hope it does help u find ur inner peace or whatever its called, haha!

    • existentiallife April 24, 2009 / 8:14 am

      haha. not yet. i’m far from it. but yes, i’ve always been innocent. lol. it might change in the states. who knows.

      • cb_s April 24, 2009 / 9:52 am

        o dont go 2 mental in the states tho! stay clear of hard drugs- thats my advice.

      • existentiallife April 24, 2009 / 1:34 pm

        it’s hard isnt it? i expect lots of peer pressure. i’m thinking i’ll put posters of paula creamer and maria sharapova up anyway. lol.

      • cb_s April 27, 2009 / 6:56 am

        dont expect lots of peer pressure. i havent had any ๐Ÿ™‚

      • existentiallife April 27, 2009 / 1:09 pm

        lol. cos you’re female. and you didn’t do engineering. -.-
        Nadal won again. You know I have the feeling he will die some time this year (on clay) if he doesnt step up his game.

      • cb_s April 27, 2009 / 7:34 pm

        my bro is doing engineering and he doesnt even drink and hes perfectly fine!
        mmmmmmmmmm…. i dunno. i feel only djokovic can challenege him and he has 2 play super well. i dont think he will lose on clay this yr. maybe next yr.

      • existentiallife April 28, 2009 / 9:11 am

        Haha well we’ll see. I’m saying this year.
        Anyway I read your tennis project. And yes Gulbis looks awful in that pic. I always thought that way but didnt dare to tell you. lol.

      • cb_s April 28, 2009 / 9:56 am

        lol but he looks really really nice in all his otehrs. hes sooo hot!!!
        did u like it??

  2. girlspell April 24, 2009 / 3:25 pm

    Do Monks play tennis? I would think so. To have a strong mind, you have to have a strong body.
    If you feel this is for you, you should stick it out. Not too many people can do this. I wondered about this. There were so many doubts hidden in your recent posts. What are your parent’s reaction?
    I don’t know how I would feel if my son came home and announced he would become a Roman Catholic, priest or monk. And if I had a daughter, and she would announce one day she will be a cloistered nun? Most parents want to have grandchildren LOL..So these decisions should never be taken lightly. To be a monk would be wonderful if the reason is that it was right for you and not because of disappointments left behind.
    Everyone wants enlightenment. You wouldn’t be human if you did not. You have to find the kind right for yourself.

    • existentiallife April 24, 2009 / 3:28 pm

      Haha. Nah it’s not for me. I still have many worldly attachments. And no, monks cant do sports. It’s against the rules. You don’t need a strong body to maintain a strong mind. You need lots of patience, determination and of course meditation ๐Ÿ™‚
      And I’m thinking of building my own house with a big big garden. and maybe a small family. so this path is not what i dream of for now. lol.

      • girlspell April 24, 2009 / 3:34 pm

        Yay!! Now you can become an engineer, have a little house with a lovely garden, and a happy family. Mornings you can do prayers! And if it’s not for you, you can always find a monastary or take up a life of crime. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll also argue with the teachers that you can not have a strong mind without a strong body. Body and mind are ALWAYS in harmony.
        I have an icon you can meditation

      • existentiallife April 24, 2009 / 3:41 pm

        Haha I like butterflies! And I can argue with you that Mind and body are separate entities. We can go at length about this. lol. But nvm. Peace shall we?
        Btw, Mind in this place doesn’t refer to the brain. It refers to this metaphysical thing.. sorta like just energy. i don’t really understand it either.
        From http://161.58.114.60/article_detail.php?article_id=186
        Science & Spirit: Buddhists talk a lot about “the mind.”
        What is the mind in Buddhism, and how is it different or similar to the Western notion of mind?
        Mark Epstein: Mind can be many different things in Buddhism, the way Eskimos supposedly have 49 words for different kinds of snow. Mind can be the thinking mind, the way we in the West think of the word, or it can be consciousness, or it can be the Buddha Mind, which is the awakened mind, that which realizes its own true nature. This awakened mind has certain qualities in abundance, qualities like tolerance, patience and equanimity. We tend to think of mind as involved with thinking, or as intelligence. In Buddhism, mind has a greater scope and potential, especially in its awakened state.

      • girlspell April 24, 2009 / 4:17 pm

        I made that butterfly ๐Ÿ™‚
        There is no limit to the mind. Be it intelectually or spiritually. I grew up in an orthordox Jewish home, where the mind (and knowledge) is Everything. But I still think that to have a healthy mind, you need a healthy body.

Leave a comment

