0136 – 'Virtual' life a second life?

Inspired by the LJ Writer’s Block question which goes something like ‘Do you behave the same way online as you do in real life?’

My answer is… No.

I spend as much time, if not more, living a virtual life as I do coping with reality. And I love my virtual life.

Calling it ‘virtual life’ seems a bit strange because a virtual life is another life for me you know, which kinda makes it un-virtual. You probably don’t need to guess which life I love more!

Whenever reality strikes, I can always find comfort in the virtual world, where everything seems to be more certain, friendly and approachable; and also less cruel, scrutinizing and open. I can choose to conceal what I want, and expose the side that the world probably prefers to see. When real life sources of comfort desert me, I can always rely on my virtual friends. I can just laugh and joke around and forget about all my problems. I can lower my guard and just love them for their effervescent and carefree personality. I don’t need to worry if they’re gonna attack. I love my virtual friends BECAUSE MY VIRTUAL FRIENDS ARE BLOODY AWESOME THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

I’ve come to the point that going online to play is almost a daily necessity; life feels incomplete without that. Virtual life is the life!

If only real life is as uncomplicated to deal with. Mannnn.

So… Do you behave the same way online as you do in real life???

And woohoo to Nadal.

11 thoughts on “0136 – 'Virtual' life a second life?

  1. girlspell March 23, 2009 / 11:00 am

    I missed the Indian Wells!! For some reason, although I have the Dish Network, there wasn’t a channel that carried it 😦 I think one of the networks carried the finals, I just missed it!
    I am happy for Nadal though.
    I forgot the topic! Oh, err…yes and no. I am kind of the same person online and kind of not. I’m not as open online as I am in real life. I know 2 people on my F-list in real life. They both seem the same online though!
    Do you know I’m still annoyed I missed the tennis!

    • existentiallife March 23, 2009 / 3:20 pm

      Haha. Hugsss. I didn’t watch much either. Kinda losing interest in tennis :/ It’s not such a bad week to miss anyway. Be sure to catch Venus and Serena in Miami next week though. Hope there won’t be an upset 😦 I want a Venus-Serena final!
      Yeah I guess most people choose to portray only some aspects of their lives online? That’s why it seems so nice. You don’t need to be careful not to expose your weaknesses/weird behaviors.

    • tennisdeva March 23, 2009 / 5:34 pm

      Usually the Tennis Channel carried the mens portion of Indian Wells because it’s a Masters event and they show those. I think ESPN2 might’ve shown the final. Last year Fox Sports showed the womens half. I don’t know why they split it. But I guess it depends on where you are.

  2. tennisdeva March 23, 2009 / 5:43 pm

    The most I do is censor my language online. That’s actually kind of confusing. I only speak with a Southern accent when I’m mad. And I tend to curse a lot, favorite word being the s bomb. But I don’t type how I speak and I think that may be the difference.
    I don’t speak to a lot of my friends I know at home online. Why? Why should I type something I could pick up the phone and say in ten seconds? Just dumb. Besides, I use the computer to get away from them sometimes (especially the bf. God he sucks sometimes).
    Are we really awesome, Pete? You’re awesome too!

    • existentiallife March 23, 2009 / 7:21 pm

      YES YOU ARE AWESOME! Hahahaha. Guess what. SOMEBODY *ahem ahem* curses much more than you. LOL.
      Yeah sometimes real life friends do disappoint me sometimes. Virtual friends never disappoint 🙂

      • tennisdeva March 23, 2009 / 7:39 pm

        Yeah! We’re too great. Sometimes I get so frustrated with the bf I can’t even find a good insult:
        “Why you have to be such a… butthole?!”
        Who says butthole? I haven’t used that since the fifth grade. But for some reason that’s how we communicate best. Insults.
        Whoever said Rafa wasn’t a beautiful mover should die. He moved so wonderfully in that wind! Much better than the Snaggy Scottie. I’m so happy he won!

      • existentiallife March 23, 2009 / 7:43 pm

        Yes! I’m happy too! 🙂 He’s just cemented himself at the top. I’m not very good with the tennis maths, you think you can help? I wanna find out when is the earliest Federer can overtake Nadal.
        VENUS AND SERENA ARE ON THE SAME SIDE. RAWRRRRRRR.

      • tennisdeva March 23, 2009 / 8:13 pm

        Well…
        A lot of stuff would need to happen on both sides. Roger would need a LOT of help from Rafa. Last year, Rafa made the Key Biscayne final, won two tourneys, lost second round, won 5 straight, lost in semi, won Olympics, lost in two semis and a quarter. He’d have to do a lot of losing early in big tournaments for Roger to overtake him. Like not win any clay events which, barring injury or a plague of locusts, isn’t gonna happen. Defending Wimbledon is a big ask because Murray will be on his side unless he’s ranked No. 3 come that time.
        While it’s possible, mathematically I don’t know when it could happen. Roger would need help and he’d have to start winning some of these tourneys.

      • existentiallife March 24, 2009 / 6:29 am

        Yeah i figured so. Possibility of a whole year at no. 1 perhaps?
        *fingers crossed*

      • tennisdeva March 24, 2009 / 9:15 pm

        Maaaaaaybe…. LOL

  3. cb_s March 24, 2009 / 9:01 am

    I think I swear more online. I censor my language a tad more in real life because swearing isnt very attractive on girls. But the truth is when I am around my real close mates I do talk like this. Its unprofessional at work, I only just got out of a big telling off cos I said about one of our machines “it’s a fucking piece of shit” and apparently a patient could hear me. I got out of it cos shit hit the fan elsewhere. Anyways, off topic.
    No I love my online mates. My first online mate was a guy called Ben I met on a Zelda chatboard (embaressing) when I was 11 and he was 9. 10 years later we are still chatting. It’s pretty cool, altho some pple think its weird. I like to use my online life to escape from reality too. But I do love my real life, it’;s just that when I go on and on about tennis and fashion people I hang out with don’t really get me. I once heard someone say that you have more chances of clicking with people online because you automatically have a similar interest, (in this case, tennis).
    So when I am having shit at work, or splitting up with bf, or really really really angry at my fav man in the world for losing to the biggets tooth on the planet… I come here. And when I;m having a great day… I come here anyway 🙂

Leave a comment

