0124 – Is ignorance bliss?

"And very often, the truth hurts. I mean, people say they want the truth. But, do they really?"

Meridith Grey, Grey’s Anatomy

Grey’s quotes are often razaor-sharp and capable of provoking further thoughts. I love them so very much.

Do you really want the truth. Do you? DO YOU?

To me, that is just an unanswerable question. I generally prefer to shun anything that will cause upset or conflicts, and I keep everything in side. That way, the pain is minimized. The truth that doesn’t unveil itself will remain veiled, inside me.

Yet, sometimes, as an adult, it is one’s responsibility to discover the truth, to know the truth, and to demand the truth. For without the truth, mutual understanding and eternal reconciliation are practically impossible. No matter how badly you hate the truth, you have to realize that the truth is what matters. I really sometimes prefer to just hide in a outer shell that would ‘supposedly’ protect me from all the calamities of our cruel world. But it doesn’t. It wouldn’t, and it never will. The shell I sometimes create just close my eyes to the stark reality of the situation, and it makes me unsophisticated. Until I can learn to handle the truth, I will not be a complete adult.

Even recently, I still try to block away the truth when it is revealed to me. The thought of me, and those around me, trying to come to terms with the facts horrifies me.

I guess it is this kind of challenging decisions that one has to make everyday that allows one to cross the finish line of ‘adulthood’, a place worthy to be after the arduous journey of maturation.

16 thoughts on “0124 – Is ignorance bliss?

  1. tennisdeva February 12, 2009 / 4:58 am

    Ah… Meredith is actually my least favorite character on the show (well, apart from Izzy). But I do like her little insightful quips at the beginning and end.
    No. No one ever wants to hear the truth. It’s like when I ask the bf to tell me if this dress looks nice. He asks me if I want his honest opinion or do I want him to tell me what I want to hear. Puts me kinda at a disadvantage because I want his opinion but I don’t want him to say “You look horrible” either. You know?
    I, on the other hand, tend to come across as brutally honest sometimes and that can in turn hurt some people. I don’t like to sugarcoat. But hey, you said it. The truth hurts.

    • existentiallife February 12, 2009 / 5:22 am

      MARIA!!!! ❤ your icon!!
      wow you have a bf? coollll. hahahahah.

      • tennisdeva February 12, 2009 / 9:15 am

        Oh, the bf? He’s no one special LOL. Just some dude I tote around on my arm occasionally. Seriously, we don’t refer to each other that way in public, but I guess it’s an unspoken agreement. It’s complicated. Like, I’m not allowed to date others and neither is he, though we aren’t “official,” technically. You know, complicated…
        It’s hard to find an icon of Maria not mean-muggin some camera. So, I found one of her smiling! 🙂

      • existentiallife February 12, 2009 / 12:28 pm

        yeah i understand candid Maria shots are a rarity 🙂
        hahaha complicated. COMPLICATED huh. complicated. i see, it’s COMPLICATED. hahahahahhahaha. 😛 I sense somebody blushing! 🙂

      • tennisdeva February 12, 2009 / 8:57 pm

        Ha! Blush? Me? As if!
        Rafa’s playing like he’s lost his mind. I’ll chalk all this 3-set mess to the court in Rotterdam being really fast.

      • existentiallife February 13, 2009 / 7:47 am

        Hahahah. Well. I don’t know. I want Rafa to win quickly on faster courts, not win more slowly.

      • tennisdeva February 13, 2009 / 10:02 pm

        He’s not winning fast enough!
        Three sets again with Tsonga! 64 67 64. He had chances to end it in the second. Jerkwad. Why oh why does he do this?

      • existentiallife February 14, 2009 / 3:38 am

        Well you know, I think we must be prepared for an upcoming loss. soon, i suppose.

      • tennisdeva February 14, 2009 / 5:12 am

        Ah…
        The faith! Shame on you! And you call yourself a fan… LOL
        We must have faith in Rafa. We must believe. We believed at Wimbledon and look what happened! We believed in Oz (well, I did) and look what happened! Even if he loses, I’ll still love him. But, I’ll never forgive him if he makes it to the final and loses to… Murray. He’s NEVER allowed to do that again.
        EVER

      • existentiallife February 14, 2009 / 5:19 am

        LOL. He’s not invincibleeee okayyyyyyyyy. I pity his knees! He’s gotta lose at some point. Every time my fav player loses, I always get depressed for days. It’s not very nice. So I’m trying to be more prepared. lol.
        But RAFA IS GONNA GET THE GRAND SLAM THIS YEARRRRR

      • tennisdeva February 14, 2009 / 7:36 am

        He has a pretty good shot at doing it. I’d love to see the deity who can bring him down at Roland Garros. After last year’s performance, I’d be surprised if he just doesn’t bagel everyone. LOL
        Wimby is certainly winnable. He’s defending champ, so he can do it again. The US Open is the only one with a little doubt. We know he can at least make the semis. Like Oz, he seems to go one better every year. Do it Rafa do it.
        If only he hadn’t lost to Andy Murray last year in that two-day semi, we’d already be celebrating the “Rafa Slam.” Darn calendar.

      • existentiallife February 14, 2009 / 9:07 am

        Not darn calender. Darn Murray, bitch! HAHAHAHAHA

  2. notepadd February 13, 2009 / 9:50 am

    I’VE GOT THE SECOND PART OF THE QUOTE.
    yknow, the one at the end.
    I write all the nice quotes in a small little book. (:

  3. julietsdarkness February 19, 2009 / 7:30 pm

    And you say you’re unable to write lately. I don’t believe it. I love that show, && absolutely envy this entry. =] thx alot.

    • existentiallife February 20, 2009 / 6:17 am

      lol. reallyyyyy. this was like some time ago and I haven’t thought of something similar since. lol. i’m degenerating here.
      you can do it! write one! 🙂

Leave a comment

