0123 – The World of Tarot


Spiritual enlightenment, inner illumination, hidden power. Link between seen and unseen. Balance of positive and negative forces. Receptivity. Unseen guidance.
A young woman sits on a throne holding a scroll labeled "Tora" meaning "law." On her breast is the sign of the meeting of heaven and earth, the Maltese cross. Her crown is the full orb supported by horns, the crown ofthe Mother Goddess Isis, who rules all things changeable, shown by the moon at her feet. Her power, upon which her throne rests, derives from the creative principle of duality, shown by the two pillars of light and darkness. To those who know and love her she dispenses the sweet fruit of the world itself, symbolized by the pomegranites.

Well, according to that website, I am The High Priestess. A card which has showed up three times – three times – in three readings I’ve done about myself. Three out of three. Dismiss it if you wish, but I always maintain the notion: If you don’t believe, then don’t disparage.

I’ve only been into Tarot for like a week, and so far I think it’s going well. Helps me to clarify my life, helps me to see the direction my life is heading in. Well, I’m an amateur so I really have no idea what I interpret will come true, but only time will tell. The Tarot’s culture is rich and supermassively intricate and enigmatic. And something that’s awfully hard to master too!

I don’t know if I can comprehend this ‘experience’ I am having. It goes against my logic in science and reality. The believers of Tarot cite ‘intuition’ and ‘inner consciousness’, which may actually exist, as a source of ideas and interpretations. Interesting.

I guess there really is the power of faith. Sometimes, we insist we’re right, no matter how wrong uncertain we are. That’s faith, ain’t it?
Well, faith isn’t a basis for facts, but though claims through faith may not be right, it isn’t wrong either, for ‘wrong’ isn’t necessarily on the opposite end of ‘right’.

I do have a lot of faith. In religions, and in things unhidden. I believe in the power of everything. The hidden energy in the Tarot cards, the unseen influence of the stars on our lives, the influence of our name on our personality, the power of numbers. Superstitious, perhaps. But from personal experience, what I believe in relate to my reality. These enigmas are funny; they tend to reveal themselves to only the believers.

Well, I dunno what to say. Free readings when I see you! (If you allow yourself to be my guinea pigs :))

And isn’t it interesting. this was a spontaneous post. And look at the post number. 0-1-2-3. Coincidence?

I say Nahhhhh.

3 thoughts on “0123 – The World of Tarot

  1. girlspell February 6, 2009 / 4:53 pm

    My husband has a Tarot. We’ve used it several times. I’m not sure how it affects you, to tell the truth. I tend to give it a jaundiced eye.
    I don’t mind having it dealt to me. I don’t even care if I get the Death Card. Death simply means change. But I sure would be unhappy if The Tower was ever dealt to me!

    • existentiallife February 6, 2009 / 5:00 pm

      You know, people are scared of the tower. But what it really means is that you have to reconsider what you’re doing and change your ways and you’ll be fine. If you notice, the lightning only strikes at the top of the tower, while the base remains intact. That’s one good way, maybe the only one, of looking at it.

Leave a comment

